Make your own free website on
STARS Battle of the Bluegrass by Arizona Sport Shirts

Lay Takes Lake Cumberland cash back to Northern Kentucky

Race Results

Lake Cumberland Speedway
Burnside, KY

From Sunday Afternoon, May 5, 2002

Jesse James Lay of Walton, KY scored the biggest win of his racing
career by taking the STARS Battle of the Bluegrass by Arizona Sport
Shirts DirtCar series feature event on Sunday afternoon at the Lake
Cumberland Speedway.  Lay's $3000 win was the biggest ever for the 31
year old driver as he took the Outlaw Racing/Dargie Racing Engines/Joe
Lay and Sons Plumbing/Cox Outdoor Advertising/TNT Crane/Blue Beacon
Truck Wash/Moen Faucet/Brooks Meats/Winwater/Win Electric/Glen's
Auto/Albrecht and Co/Clines of the River/Sporty's and Pine Island
sponsored Rocket Chassis Monte Carlo #33 to victory circle over Bobby
Carrier, Jr., Tyrel Todd, Victor Lee and Dan Sturgeon.   The event was
delayed one day because of rain and drew 40 entries to the D shaped

Lay would grab the lead immediately at the drop of the green flag to
start the event with Scott James running in second and Bobby Carrier,
Jr. in tow.  They would run that way until Carrier made a move on James
to take second spot on the 14th circuit.  With the bevy of cautions
during the day racing event the competition was able to keep within
contact of Lay for most of the race but when the green flag periods
would be underway Lay kept his steady driving style on the bottom
and would never really be seriously challenged for the top spot.
Carrier would put his best foot forward and tried to stay with Lay in
last quarter of the race but Lay never slid out of the groove to allow
Carrier an opportunity to pass him.  Carrier coming off of a feature
the night before at Richmond, which is the next stop for the series,
would take second place in the Harlow Racing/Mastersbilt #16 entry.
Taking the third spot was an impressive run for 20 year old Tyrel Todd
handling the Todd Truss/Kicker Chassis #14 taking a STARS BOB series
best third place finish.  The leading PBM Performance Products Rookie
the year candidate after two events, Victor Lee would quietly take the
fourth spot driving the Estes Automotive and Machine/Rayburn #22
crossing the line just head of Indiana's Dan Sturgeon who piloted the
LRC Motorsports #26 Rocket to a fifth place after starting 13th on the

Completing the top ten were Richard Smith, Timmy Yeager, Brad Barrow,
Randy Boggs and Joey Daniel.

Official Results

Lake Cumberland Speedway
Burnside, KY

Sunday Afternoon, May 5, 2002

STARS Battle of the Bluegrass by Arizona Sport Shirts Late Models

40 Entries

Top Qualifier: Eddie Carrier, Jr. 13.390
First Heat: Steve Cornelius, Tyrel Todd, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Dan
Second Heat: Scott James, Victor Lee, Tommy Hargis, Randy Boggs
Third Heat: Jesse James Lay, Steve Smith, Jay Mobley, Whitney McQueary
Fourth Heat: Bobby Carrier, Jr., Joey Daniel, Brad Barrow, Mike Hawley
First Consy: Dan Sturgeon, Johnny Wheeler, Randy Boggs, Brian Burke
Second Consy: John Gill, Richard Smith, Bobby Wolter, Jr., Whitney
1.  Jesse James Lay-Walton, KY  Rocket/Dargie/American Race Tires
2.  Bobby Carrier, Jr.-Harrodsburg, KY
3.  Tyrel Todd-Eubank, KY
4.  Victor Lee-Stanford, KY
5.  Dan Sturgeon-Bedford, IN
6.  Richard Smith-Science Hill, KY
7.  Timmy Yeager-Harrodsburg, KY
8.  Brad Barrow-Bloomington, IN
9.  Randy Boggs-Grayson, KY
10. Joey Daniel-Liberty, KY
11. Bobby Wolter,  Jr.-Lexington, KY
12. Eddie Carrier, Jr.-Leburn,KY
13. Johnny Wheeler-Campbellsville, KY
14. Tommy Hargis-Somerset, KY
15. Dustin Neat-Dunnville, KY
16. John Gill-Mitchell, IN
17. Steve Cornelius-Berea, KY
18. Jay Mobley-Harrodsburg, KY
19. Brandon Hardgrove-Burnside, KY
20. Scott James-Lawrenceburg,  IN
21. Steve Smith-Powell, TN
22. Royce McGowan-Faubush, KY

Yeager (1)
D. Neat (1)
Track Provisionals:
McGowan and Hardgrove